Collin College was named a Presidential Award Finalist for the 2013 President’s Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll, one of only two community colleges in the nation to be named.  The Presidential Award is the highest honor a college or university can receive for its exemplary commitment to volunteering, service-learning, and civic engagement.  The Corporation for National and Community Service administers the Honor Roll which honored nearly 700 colleges and universities this year in addition to 14 Presidential Award Finalists and five winners.

Collin’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa recently won nine awards at the Texas Regional Phi Theta Kappa Convention.  Alpha Mu Tau received the following:

  •  Pinnacle Award
  • Award of Distinction for Honors in Action Project
  • Five Star Chapter Development Award
  •  Poster Project Award
  • Distinguished Advisor Hall of Honor – Brandy Jumper
  • Member Hall of Honor – Vashtai Kekich
  • Friend of Texas Appreciation Award – Judy James
  • Texas Top Chapter Award

In addition, four chapter members reached 5-Star level membership, the highest status for membership with Phi Theta Kappa.

The Collin College United Nations Team has won two national awards.  The first award was for Outstanding Representation in a Committee.  Students Kris Phillips and Kirsten Bustamante won for their representation of the delegation from Seychelles in the Economic Commission of Africa.  Collin was the only community college to win in this category.  The second award was for Distinguished Delegation.  Congratulations on this fantastic accomplishment to the members of Collin’s United Nations Team and its great Professor Sonia Iwanek.

Student Thor Rushing has won the U.S. Army’s Best Warrior Competition.  He credits Collin College and Professors Jean-Marie Dauplaise and Dr. Kerry Byrnes for helping him reach the top with his written essay and public speaking.

Women’s Basketball Coach Jeff Allen has been announced as a finalist for the 2013 Russell Athletic/Women’s Basketball Coaches Association Junior/Community College National Coach of the Year.  He is one of eight finalists from across the nation

Chief of Police Michael Gromatzky is profiled in the article “Focus on learning keeps unit expanding, officers growing professionally” published in the March 2013 issue of “Campus Security Report.”

Philip Schultz, author of this year’s book-in-common “My Dyslexia, held author presentations, book signings and a writer’s workshop at CPC, PRC and SCC in early March.  There was a great turnout for the book-in-common events with a total of 861 participants including, faculty, staff, students and community members

Professor of Mathematics Raja Khoury was elected as State Secretary for the Texas Community College Teachers Association.

Lisa Huang, Allied Health Sciences Librarian at the Central Park Campus has been awarded a Professional Development Award from the National Network of Medicine/South Central Region to attend “The Evolving Librarian Workshop:  Responding to Changes in the Workplace and in Healthcare” in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: