The following faculty and staff were honored at All College Day on Aug. 16:

Professor of the Year: Dr. Kyle Wilkison, professor of history

Associate Professor of the Year: Dr. Olga Amelkina, professor of music

Recognition of Service and Excellence (ROSE) Award

  • Full-time: Rusty Bishop, interpreter
  • Part-time: Carol Ann Kaplan, testing clerk

Sam E. Roach Endowed Chair in Business and Engineering:

Clay Randall, professor of economics

Lebrecht Endowed Chair for Scholarly and Civic Engagement:

Dr. Lisa Kirby, professor of English

20-Year Service Awards:

Suzanne Acklin, network analyst

Kris Berg, professor of music

Peter Brierley, professor of engineering technology

Charlette Brown, divison secretary

Sonia Castillo, student development specialist

Cathy Donald-Whitney, professor of biology

Laura Foster-Eason, professor of developmental writing

Pam Gaiter, professor of sociology

Minnie Garcia, administrative assistant

Nick Gellar, professor of mathematics

Peggy Head, testing center support

Marilyn Miller, computer lab assistant

Kemal Moula, professor of foreign language

Tammy O’Bier, printing services supervisor

Linda Qualia, associate dean of counseling and career services

Kelley Reynolds, professor of respiratory therapy

All College Council’s All College Day Silent Auction raised $7,348 for student scholarships.

Dr. Amina El-Ashmawy, professor of chemistry at the Central Park Campus, has been selected as a 2013 American Chemical Society fellow. She is one of 96 fellows from across the nation to be named as a member of the 2013 class and one of only two from community colleges.

Three respiratory care students, Stewart Morrison, Kanokon Raksriaksorn and Tracy Bedar, received education recognition awards from the American Respiratory Care Foundation.

Two teams representing respiratory care competed at the Trivia Bowl (aka Sputum Bowl) last month in Dallas. One team took first place while the other team made it to the final four. The winning team will travel to California for the November convention.

Gail Cronauer, professor of theatre, will be honored as one of the great women in the Dallas performing arts community during the USA Film Festival and Texas Association of Film & Tap Professionals’ TexFest on Thursday, Sept. 5 at the Angelika Theatre in Dallas.

Collin College Living Legend Dr. Myrtle Hightower will be recognized as this year’s Citizen of the Year at the Plano Chamber of Commerce’s annual awards banquet on Sept. 5. She is a longtime educator and a civic, community and social activist. Hightower was an associate faculty instructor at the college for several years after her retirement from Plano ISD and was very involved with the Writing Center at the Spring Creek Campus. Hightower Elementary School in Plano is named after Hightower and her late husband, John.

The following faculty and staff that have been accepted into leadership programs for 2013-2014:

Leadership Plano – David Green, director of Weekend College

Leadership Frisco – Diana Sage, professor of speech

Leadership McKinney – Doug Willis, dean of student development

CLARA* – Kim Nyman, professor of speech

Lisa Huang, reference librarian

*CLARA is the Consortium Leadership and Renewal Academy of the North Texas College Consortium.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: